boone, as seen through food

Have you noticed how most social gatherings revolve around food? I mean I don’t know about you, but I’m almost always stalking the cookie plate. Well, my weekend visiting Carie in Boone was no different. We ate our way through those two and a half days. But before I get to all the tasties, there were plenty of other adventures we had, despite the lingering rain and fog that only cleared up for a few hours. It was one of those weekends where we did so many things, but I never felt rushed or busy. Carie’s one of those girls I could literally talk to forever. I’ve known her barely a year, seen her maybe 3 times since we first me and yet she’s become one of my dearest friends. After a few days with her I went home completely relaxed, refreshed after great conversations, a spontaneous pillow fight and laughing until my stomach hurt. Easily one of the best weekends ever!

Carie and I woke up at 5:45 to watch the sunrise over the Appalachian Mountains. Given the weather (seen above) the sunrise wasn’t exactly visible. Instead we played in the fog, of course.

Accidental, but I’m still a fan.

“Crawling” Boone, per our tradition created in Sevilla (seen below).

After an incredible breakfast, we headed over to the farmers market and wandered around fresh peaches (which we bought and later transformed into the most incredible peach pie/cake thing), flowers and even purple bell peppers. Yes, purple. I’m on a mission to find them in Chapel Hill/have Becca’s dad grow them for me.

When Carie and I were talking about me coming up for a weekend, I told her I wanted to do something adventurous. And while the rainy weather never cramped our style, it didn’t really make outdoorsy activities very appealing. So, when the sky cleared Sunday morning, we hiked our way to Trashcan Falls and went waterfall jumping. SOO MUCH FUN. Seriously. It was one of those times where I felt like I would be the 1 out of every 1000 people that gets hurt or hits a rock when you jump off. Such a rush. Gosh, I wish we had stuff to do like this in Chapel Hill….

And now here are our meals (for the most part) documented in their order of appearance:

Yours truly did indeed whip cream by hand. Impressed?

The weekend ended on the most perfect note: a cappuccino, journaling and the faint sound of the drizzling rain outside.

Carie will be in Montpellier, France for the next year with Campus Crusade, so I’m sure she’ll have many more adventures! Keep up with her wonderful and adventurous life here and here!

2 Responses to “boone, as seen through food”

  1. Absolutely love all the food in this post (and you make fun of me for whipping my chocolate chip cookies all together for so long…haha!) AND the Cappuccino that looks delightful.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

